20 Nursing Students Awarded American Psychiatric Nurses Associations Board of Directors Student Scholarship

The American Psychiatric Nurses Association selects undergraduate and graduate nursing students with a demonstrated passion for psychiatric-mental health nursing to receive the APNA Board of Directors Student Scholarship. This year’s twenty recipients will receive registration, travel, and lodging expenses to attend the APNA 29th Annual Conference October 28-31 at Disney’s Coronado Springs Resort in Lake Buena Vista, Florida. This conference will provide the scholarship recipients with opportunities to network with psychiatric-mental health nurses, participate in mentoring events, and expand their knowledge through attending presentations by leaders in the field. In addition, these nursing students will receive a year of complimentary membership in APNA. As APNA members, they will interact with experienced nurses and experts in psychiatric mental health nursing, as well as receive access to education and resources that will help them further develop their skills as they prepare to enter into nursing practice.

Prelicensure/undergraduate recipients of the 2015 APNA Board of Directors are: Cassandra Arpin, University of Connecticut; Hannah Chau, University of Minnesota, Twin Cities; Juliette Marcello, University of Cincinnati; Allison McLeod, University of Massachusetts, Amherst; Emma Olson, University of California, San Francisco; Jordan Reynolds, Georgia State University; Jessica Rhea, Mercer University; Ryan Stevens, University of Massachusetts, Lowell; Brent Tyhuis, Pacific Lutheran University; and Carmen White, Wichita State University.

Graduate recipients of the 2015 APNA Board of Directors are Napoleon DeVeyra, University of California, San Francisco; Jennifer Frisbie, University of Illinois at Chicago; Nicola Keeth, University of Missouri, Columbia; Theresa Lesniak, Northeastern University; Khadejah Mahmoud, University of Pittsburgh; Tara Mariolis, University of Massachusetts, Amherst; Kathleen McDermott, California State University, Fullerton; Jessica Walker, Vanderbilt University; Kati Wijdenes, University of Arizona; and Brandi Williams, University of Minnesota.

“The APNA Board of Directors is delighted to offer some of psychiatric-mental health nursing’s best and brightest students this opportunity,” says APNA President Susie Adams, PhD, APRN, PMHNP-BC, PMHCNS-BC, FAANP. “We extend congratulations to these students and their universities and look forward to celebrating their achievements at the APNA 29th Annual Conference in October.”

The American Psychiatric Nurses Association is a national professional membership organization committed to the specialty practice of psychiatric-mental health nursing and wellness promotion, prevention of mental health problems and the care and treatment of persons with psychiatric disorders. APNA’s membership is inclusive of all psychiatric mental health registered nurses including associate degree, baccalaureate, advanced practice (comprised of clinical nurse specialists and psychiatric nurse practitioners), and nurse scientists and academicians (PhD). APNA serves as a resource for psychiatric mental health nurses to engage in networking, education, and the dissemination of research.

The American Psychiatric Nurses Association is accredited as a provider of continuing nursing education by the American Nurses Credentialing Center’s Commission on Accreditation.


Leave a Reply